The Brainbox Initiative Conference 2019

For Non-Invasive Brain Stimulation and Brain Imaging

26 – 27 September 2019

Highlights & Awards

previous arrow
next arrow
previous arrownext arrow

The Brainbox Initiative Conference brings together rich, field-leading expertise in non-invasive brain stimulation and brain imaging. Our conference is unique in encouraging the presentation of groundbreaking research from neuroscientists at all stages of their careers, offering postdoctoral researchers and some of the most well-known names in neuroscience the opportunity to present their work on the same stage. Through bringing together such a wide audience, the Brainbox Initiative Conference stimulates new avenues for networking, discoveries, and collaboration in the field.

The Brainbox Initiative Conference will be returning to London next September 24-25, so make sure to keep an eye out for announcements of early-bird ticket releases, calls for interest in conference speakers, and the reopening of our annual Research Challenge and Young Investigator Award.

The Brainbox Initiative Conference 2019 programme featured:

09:30 – 10:00: Registration & Welcome

10:00 – 10:15: Opening address from conference chair Dr Jacinta O’Shea

10:15 – 10:45: Haya Akkad, University of Oxford (2018 Poster Prize Winner)

10:45 – 11:15: James Dowsett, LMU Munich (combined tACS and EEG)

11:15 – 12:00: Poster pitch session I, posters 1-15

12:00 – 13:00: Lunch, networking, and posters

13:00 – 13:45: Keynote address, Professor Hartwig Siebner

13:45 – 14:15: Research Challenge 2016 Updates from Helen Nuttall and Siddharth Kohli

14:15 – 15:00: Poster pitch session II, posters 16-30

15:00 – 15:30: Coffee and networking

15:30 – 16:00: Life outside academia: Insights from Dr Roch Comeau (Rogue Research) and Dr Rory Cutler (Brainbox)

16:00 – 16:30: Lennart Verhagen, University of Oxford (transcranial focused ultrasound)

16:30 – 17:00: Eleonore Smalle, Ghent University (Learning language effortlessly like a child: TMS-induced disruption of the left DLPFC enhances novel-word segmentation in adults)

17:00 – 17:30: Danny Spampinato, University College London (non-invasive brain stimulation to study motor learning)

17:00 – 19:00: Extended poster session

19:00 – 22:00: Social and drinks event at the Wellcome Collection, with access to museum exhibitions

09:30 – 10:00: Registration

10:00 – 10:15: Welcome and Poster Prize winner announced

10:15 – 10:45: Caroline Di Bernardi Luft, Queen Mary University (Combining tACS and EEG to understand creativity)

10:45 Р11:15: Research Challenge 2017 updates from Naheem Bashir and Tegan Penton

11:15 – 11:30: Research Challenge 2019 Award Presentation

11:30 – 12:15: Professor Tim Denison, University of Oxford (bioelectric medicine)

12:15 – 13:15: Lunch, networking, and posters

13:15 – 14:00: Keynote address, Professor Helen Mayberg

14:00 – 14:30: Jen Chesters, University of Oxford (using tDCS to augment speech therapy)

14:30 Р15:00: Gesa Hartwigsen, Universität Leipzig (brain stimulation and neuroimaging in the study of the language system)

15:00 – 15:30: Coffee and networking

15:30 – 16:00: Young Investigator Award 2019 Presentation, Dr Camilla Nord

16:00 – 16:45: Dr Axel Thielscher, DRCMR (engineering and neuroscience)

16:45 – 17:00: Closing remarks and conference end

Please ensure that you have registered for this workshop separately to the Brainbox Initiative Conference. Registration for the Brainbox Initiative Conference does not automatically process registration for this event.

09:00 – 09:30: Registration at the Wellcome Collection

09:30 – 10:30: Introduction to NIBS-induced electric field modelling

10:30 – 12:30: Practical session (delegates will be asked to install software in advance of the workshop. All relevant info will be distributed in advance of the workshop.)

12:30 – 13:30: Group Q&A session & workshop close


Thanks to everyone who joined us at #BBIConf2019 – here’s just some of what you had to say about the event.