John Rothwell Award Winner 2022: Dr Nigel Rogasch

We are excited to announce that previous Brainbox Initiative Young Investigator Award winner, Dr Nigel Rogasch of the University of Adelaide, South Australian Health and Medical Research Institute, and Monash University, has been awarded the John Rothwell Award for his exceptional research and contributions to the world of non-invasive brain stimulation.


Dr Nigel Rogasch started his studies at the University of Adelaide for his BSc (Hons). He then completed his PhD at Monasch University, Melbourne where he went on to work as a research fellow at the institution until his promotion to senior research fellow in 2018. In 2019 his research brought him to move back to where his studies started, at the University of Adelaide, where he now works as a senior research fellow, researching combined non-invasive brain stimulation methods and neuroimaging in the field of memory, schizophrenia and ageing.

Dr Rogasch’s research involves combining transcranial magnetic stimulation (TMS) with neuroimaging methods such as electroencephalography (EEG) and MRI to explore the role of inhibitory/excitatory mechanisms, brain organisation (oscillations, connectivity) and plasticity in healthy and unhealthy brain function. He has investigated methods for identifying and removing artefacts from TMS-EEG recordings and has written TESA, an open-source toolbox which makes analysis methods freely available to the research community, as well as TMS-EEG to track changes in cortical properties following plasticity-inducing brain stimulation paradigms, and in different brain disorders such as schizophrenia.

In 2017, Nigel won the Brainbox Initiative Young Investigator Award for his outstanding research as an early-career researcher. The Brainbox Initiative sat down with Nigel in 2017 to talk about his thoughts on winning the award. You can read about that here.

The John Rothwell Award, launched in 2021, was established to recognise and reward some of the very best contributions being made in non-invasive brain stimulation research by mid-career neuroscientists around the world. The winner of the award, selected each year by Professor John Rothwell, is invited to join us at the Brainbox Initiative Conference to provide some fascinating insights into their ongoing work in the field.

The call for entries for the John Rothwell Award 2023 is now open.